the first days - Reisverslag uit Toronto, Canada van Sanne Berends - WaarBenJij.nu the first days - Reisverslag uit Toronto, Canada van Sanne Berends - WaarBenJij.nu

the first days

Door: sanne berends

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sanne

12 Juni 2017 | Canada, Toronto

I have been in Canada for 2 days now, and today is my first day at the office. I'm surprised of how much I have learned already. For the past days, I have stayed at the house of David and Maggie, both extremely kind people. During the days, I discovered that there is not a big culture difference, since both Canada and the Netherlands are Western countries. David is the head of Adamson Associates, an architect company in Toronto. He has already told me a lot about how everything works in his company. He compared his company with the back-up band of a singer. Adamson Associates is never in the spotlight, because the pupose of the company is to design the main idea of a building ( a building plan), not the design of the building itself. So the people that work there create the very first drawings of a building, an overview of how many levels the building can have, or for example how many elevators it will need in order to operate efficiently. Then, they usually collaborate with a famous architect who designs the appearance of a building, but Adamson Associates is responsible for producing the final detailed drawings.

Besides this, David also showed some of the buildings that he and his team have participated in, which I thought was very impressing. I had never heard of the company before, but was surprised of how many of their buildings I knew.

Due to the fact that I had my first two days off, we went to the Niagara Falls, and to a town close by. Both were amazing to visit. Even though there isn't such a big difference in culture, with everything you see, you can feel that it is not the Netherlands. The roads and traffic lights look different, the cars are different ( a lot of people own pickup-trucks), the villages look different. In general I feel like some aspects of Canada look a bit messy compared to the Netherlands, for example the electrical wiring that is visible everywhere. However, I do really like the atmosphere here. Everyone that I have met so far was very kind and open. It is common here to start a conversation on the street with people you have never met before; I personally really like this attitude.

So today is my first day at work. They already gave me an office-tour. Furthermore, today I will probably talk to people with different functions within the company to see what their task is and how they work together with others.





Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Canada, Toronto

Canada

For my international internship I'm going to Toronto, Canada.

Recente Reisverslagen:

15 Juni 2017

last day

14 Juni 2017

day 3

13 Juni 2017

day 2

12 Juni 2017

the first days
Sanne

Actief sinds 07 Juni 2017
Verslag gelezen: 72
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1633

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Juni 2017 - 19 Juni 2017

Canada

Landen bezocht: